All news

Good start half the battle for Ballon to secure the points while Pal thump St Mullins

Stephen Bambrick
August 28, 2023

JFC 'A' Round 1 Group 2

A whirlwind start from the visiting Ballon side which saw 1-5 on the board in the first quarter the foundation for their victory.

Shane Duffy netting low past Willie Minchin on just 12 seconds to put Old Leighlin on the back foot immediately, a pair of Liam Brennan points added to by Conor Bolger , Peter Zerafa and Sean Treacy before Old Leighlin's account was up and running through Decky Gough and Richie Burke points in the 12th minute.

Myles Hutton was next to oblige for Ballon before a pair of Liam Brennan frees and similar for Michael O Leary ( replaced the injured Shane Duffy ) were answered to also from a placed ball by Gearoid Foley for a 1-9 to 0-4 interval lead for a fast moving Ballon outfit .

Liam Brennan continued where he left off to point a free at the start of the 2nd half before Old Leighlin were handed a lifeline with Thomas Lynch drawing a penalty which the trusty left boot of Gearoid Foley dispatched to leave it 1-10 to 1-4.

The immediate response being a trio of points from Treacy , Brennan and Evan Corr meaning all starting forwards were now on the score sheet for Ballon.

Gearoid Foley kicked what would prove to be the Old Leighlin second strings last score shortly after with Ballon finishing the game in clinical fashion with Liam Brennan being the standout with 3 from play complimenting points from Treacy and Hutton and a Peter Zerafa goal for good measure.

The home side with a mix of experience and youth and also down a few regulars kept going till the end with Ballon deserving winners on a final scoreline of 2-18 to 1-4.

Elsewhere in this group Palatine were hefty winners at home to St Mullins by 4-12 to 0-5.


Cian Byrne, Joshua Fernandez, Lorcan Doyle, Jimmy Carroll, Ben Goodwin, Conor Kearney, Donncha Murphy, Brendan Fanning, Conor Bolger (0-1), Evan Corr (0-1), Sean Treacy (0-3) Myles Hutton (0-2), Liam Brennan (0-9, 0-4f), Peter Zerafa ( 1-1), Shane Duffy (1-0)

Subs: Michael O Leary (0-1f), Tadhg Hutton, Kevin Maher

Old Leighlin

Willie Minchin, James McDonald, John Hayden, Daniel Roche, Barry O Brien, Decky Kelly, Barry Hayes, Derek Butler, Decky Gough (0-1), Dylan Hand, Richie Burke ( 0-1), Evan Callaghan, Liam Coughlan, Thomas Lynch, Gearoid Foley ( 1-2 , 1-0 pen )

Subs: Eoghan Carpenter, Darren Hayden , Eoin Kirby

Referee: Lar Murphy