All news

St Patricks book their place in IFC last 4 with controlled performance over Kildavin/Clonegal

Stephen Bambrick
September 17, 2023

IFC Quarter Final

St Patrick's 2-11

Kildavin/Clonegal 0-5

If the first IFC Quarter-final started at a hundred miles an hour, the second was a bit more pedestrian in comparison.

More like a game of chess; nothing to hint at the margin the Tullow natives would enjoy at game's end. When the scoring did commence, it came via a familiar source, Jacko Kennedy (quiet by his own standards last week against Clonmore), fouled in the 2nd min and resultant free pointed before Joe Roberts hit back with a beauty in reply from distance.

Kennedy replying almost immediately from a free and one on the loop from play had it 0-3 to 0-1 on 12 mins. Roberts' reply was also immediate, fed by namesake Liam, who was in a more advanced role for 0-3 to 0-2 on 13 mins, but still nothing to tell us it would be 40 plus minutes for their next score.

The remainder of the half was all St Patrick's, starting on 18 mins, Craig Staunton with the outside of the boot, Kennedy on 22 mins after a solo effort before Dylan Gorman Comerford from wing back popped up to point on 24 min, a minute that also saw the game's pivotal moment.

With Kildavin/Clonegal living on bare scraps in midfield to a dominant St Patrick's, going short with a kick out, TJ Kavanagh picked the ball up on the edge of the D, a trusty left-foot kick later the ball was in Darren Coleman's net, a sublime finish (topped off with a Tomas Skuhravy celebration). Kennedy concluding the half with another placed ball, 1-7 to 0-2 at the break.

The 2nd half continued as the first ended, Jacko with a free on 36 mins, Kavanagh adding a point to his earlier goal for 1-9 to 0-2, another free and a well-taken mark for Kennedy making it 1-11 to 0-2 on 52 mins. The game was now well gone but giving in not an option for the Wexford border crew.

Liam McGuill's free on 55 and Paul Nolan's from play in the 56 minute provided some respite and it fell to Joe Roberts on 63 mins to hit their 5th and final score.

The Tullow men weren't done though, and with a one-on-one at the back, a Jacko Kennedy solo from the 45 saw him find the net with John Hickey's full-time whistle going immediately after.

St Patrick's on this display will be tricky opposition to overcome.

St Patrick's: James Tobin, Shane Rohan, Rob Gahan, Jamie Ansbro, Dylan Gorman Comerford (0-1), Niall Sherry, Lee Kavanagh, Will Doran, Craig Staunton (0-1), Cian Doran, TJ Kavanagh (1-1), Dylan Hanley, Jack Kennedy (1-8, 0-5f, 0-2m), Cian Gorman Comerford, Brian Byrne.

Subs: Eoghan Cleary, David Orbinski, Cathal Healy.

Kildavin/Clonegal: Darren Coleman, Philip Byrne, Paul Kelly, Niall Murphy, Gavin Byrne, Donal Hickey, Liam Roberts, Liam McGuill (0-1f), Niall Hickey, Padraic Ryan, Paraic Hickey, Barry Hickey, Paul Nolan (0-1), Joe Roberts (0-3, 0-1f), Alex Callaghan.

Subs: Daniel Cronin, Paul Kavanagh.

Referee: John Hickey.